Returns Returns
Institutional tourism organizations à MONTHERME

Office de Tourisme Vallées et Plateau d’Ardenne – Monthermé

Address

Place Jean-Baptiste Clément
BP 10
08800 MONTHERME

How do I get there?

About

The Ardenne Valleys and Plateau Tourist Office is located opposite the Pearl of the Ardennes, on Place Jean-Baptiste Clément in Monthermé.
The team welcomes you every day from 10 a.m. to 00 p.m. and from 12 p.m. to 00 p.m. in high season and from 14 a.m. to 00 p.m. and from 18 p.m. to 00 p.m. in low season.

In the heart of the Meuse Valley, you can discover:

A HISTORICAL AND RELIGIOUS HERITAGE:

Monthermé lived from the exploitation of the forest, slate quarries, nails and shipping on the Meuse.

From 1749 to 1846, a glassworks was in operation on the lands of the Abbey of Laval Dieu. Then, at the end of the XNUMXth century, the metallurgical industry was established in the same place. Conveniently located at the confluence of the Meuse and the Semoy, it supplies sheet metal and wrought iron to the nail and bolt factories in the area. Nearby, on the left bank of the Semoy, a foundry is set up at a place called "le Champ du Trou" which manufactures "Monthermé" cookers and a little further upstream, in the hamlet of Phades, it is a factory of rolled then galvanized sheets.

From 1905 to 1914, Monthermé was the headquarters of the Union of Labor Unions of the Ardennes, still symbolized today by the Maison du Peuple.

The stele of the “Mission Lemongrass” recalls the fight of the resistance fighters of the Hauts-Buttés maquis and the Vieux Moulins de Thilay. Marguerite FONTAINE and her family, inhabitants of this hamlet, provided hospitality and protection at the risk of their lives.

The German Camp in Thilay: remnant of an old camp built by the Germans in 1943, it first housed prisoners from the Allied forces and then German prisoners.

The Abbey of Laval-Dieu, founded by the Canons of Prémontré in the XNUMXth century, has undergone many modifications following the destruction caused by enemy crossings in this border region. There remains today the listed abbey church which contains superb woodwork.

The Church of Saint-Léger: the primitive church dated from the 1445th century, badly damaged in 1452 after being burnt down, at the same time as the village, by the “flayers”. Rebuilt and consecrated in XNUMX, it was partly fortified. Most of its interior walls are covered with XNUMXth century murals.

The Church of Hauts-Buttés, built between 1874-1876, is a sanctuary dedicated to Saint-Antoine de Padoue. Pilgrimages on June 13 and August 2.

A LAND OF LEGENDS:

In the valleys, legends are passed down through the centuries, inspiring monumental works such as the 4 sons of Aymon and the Chevalier Dardennor in Bogny-sur-Meuse, or giving their name to breathtaking viewpoints: the Roc La Tour, the Roche at 7 Heures and Longue Roche in Monthermé, Saut-Thibault in Les Hautes-Rivières, Roche aux Corpias in Tournavaux, Quatre Fils Aymon in Bogny-sur-Meuse, Dames de Meuse in Laifour, Rocher des Grands Ducs in Joigny-sur-Meuse, etc.

A LAND OF NATURE:

• The rock with 7 villages: Viewpoint in the heart of the forest with orientation table which owes its name to 7 ancient villages in the Meuse valley: Monthermé, Laval-Dieu, Bogny, Château-Regnault, Braux, Levrézy and Deville.
• The Roma rock: Viewpoint over Monthermé, the new dam and Deville.
• Le Roc la Tour: Astonishing chaos of rocks evoking, according to legend, a castle destroyed by the Devil. It offers an exceptional view of the immensity of the wooded ridges of the Ardennes.
The rock at 7 o'clock and the Long Rock: Panorama on the Monthermé loop, one of the “Pearls of the Meuse Valley”.
The Hauts-Buttés marsh: at an altitude of 470 m, the Hauts-Buttés marsh is a 30-hectare clearing occupied by wet peat moorland. The particular ecological conditions of the places, acid soil, cold and humid climate, give a great botanical and water interest to this site.

A LAND OF RESOURCES:

The Ardennes Metallurgy Museum:
Housed in a former factory in Bogny-sur-Meuse, the museum is a showcase for unparalleled know-how and industrial heritage that has shaped the history of the valley. The 700 m² museum retraces the entire history of Ardennes metallurgy, from the Middle Ages to the present day.
Open from May to September every day from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 14:00 p.m. to 18:00 p.m.
Open from October to April from Tuesday to Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 14:00 p.m. to 18:00 p.m. (Sunday and Monday by reservation for groups).
Annual closure from mid-December to end of February.

The Ardennes Minerals and Fossils Exhibition Center in Bogny-sur-Meuse:
This museum reveals over its 10 rooms all the interest and the beauty of the mineral universe, in the Ardennes and the world.
Open Tuesday to Sunday (June to August), and weekends in September from 14 p.m. to 00 p.m.

The Glass and Stained Glass workshop in Monthermé : Nicolas PEROCHE, glassmaker, has a workshop where he practices the art of stained glass and glassblowing.

The Crystal workshop from Here and Elsewhere in Monthermé : Christian Crépeaux, glassmaker, has a workshop where he practices glass blowing and the manufacture of objects from the fusion of glass.

A LAND OF LEISURE AND DISCOVERY

Boat cruises on the Meuse are organized from Monthermé to the Quatre Fils Aymon site. Discover the magnificent landscapes of the banks of the Meuse aboard the Roc.

Four sites welcome pleasure boats: the “Blue Flag” labeled community port of Monthermé (03 24 35 10 12) and the river stops of Laifour (03 24 32 63 84 or 03 24 36 08 61), Bogny-sur-Meuse (03 24 53 94 20 or 03 24 36 08 61) and Joigny-sur-Meuse (03 24 53 80 83 or 03 24 36 08 61).

Electric boats can be rented in Bogny-sur-Meuse (03.24.32.10.97) and Monthermé (07.50.26.68.11 and www.lesptitsbateaux.fr).

Several canoe-kayak routes are available from the villages of the Valley of La Semoy.
There are 2 formulas:
• Canoe-kayak rental with 4 routes to choose from (5,5km, 10km, 12,5km, 20km)
• Group supervision with qualified personnel for initiation sessions.
Thrill-seekers will appreciate the 4 climbing sites and 6 paragliding take-off sites. Contact Climbing: 03 24 59 44 49 and www.cafca08.fr or www.sk2.fr

A LAND OF HIKING:

Many marked hiking trails, of different distances, mark out the territory, supplemented by mountain bike trails with elevations ranging from 45 to 250 meters.

La TRANS-ARDENNES Greenway : Lovers of walks can explore the Voie Verte on foot, by bike, on a rosalie, on rollerblades or even on horseback in complete peace of mind without ever being disturbed by cars or any other motor vehicle. From Givet, on the Belgian border, to Remilly-Aillicourt, follow the Trans-Ardennes Greenway. More than 120 km long, this route is laid out by the County Council on the old towpath, along the Meuse.
Rosalie and bike ride on the greenway, departing from the Monthermé marina and departing from Bogny-sur-Meuse.

La TRANS-SEMOYSIAN : This tourist route offers 16km of walks from Monthermé to Les Hautes-Rivières. A great route, ideal for hikers and cyclists.


For your stay, several accommodations are available: campsites, lodges, bed and breakfasts, chalets, hotels... But also ports and river stops, parking areas for motorhomes, or atypical accommodations, such as the Cabanes Perchées in Haulmé .
List of accommodation on the tourist office website: www.meuse-semoy-tourisme.com

We speak French

Services

Equipments

  • Access for disabled

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content